cream shawl WIP

Knowing when to stop

Recently I’ve found myself struggling with the knitting pattern I’m working on. Its a knitted cowl with some lacework. The pattern offered two options for the length and I really loved the look of the longer one so that’s what I went for. However as its a cowl rather than a scarf this meant working the long edge so each row has 130 stitches. This was not great for my motivation as it felt like I was making no progress. Also, with it being my first attempt at any sort of lacework I was finding it quite tricky to follow the pattern and occasionally I would reach my stitch marker for the end of a row but instead of being at the end of the row on the pattern I was mid-motif. When each row was taking almost an hour this is not something I wanted to unpick! I decided to stick with it but after a while it was becoming more of a chore than something I was doing for fun.

Blue heart cowl

So I  made the decision to shelve the project, perhaps till I am a bit more confident with lace. Maybe if I come back to it again I will remember why I started it in the first place – I do still really love the pattern and the yarn but I just did not want to continue with a project that was more stressful than my day job!

I decided to try another knitting pattern with a small amount of lacework – it is a shawl that is basically a flat knit with periodic holes in it. Having started this new pattern I am remembering why I like knitting. It is fun and doesn’t require too much concentration allowing me to watch TV or chat to my friends as I go! I also seem to be making reasonable progress – look what I have achieved in a week! (along with work on my other projects)

Have you ever reached the point where you have to shelve a project because it just isnt working for you? How did you decide when to stop?

H.

8 thoughts on “Knowing when to stop

  1. Jenny - prettycolumn (@riley_jl) says:

    oh plenty of times I’ve started something that was too ambitious! I’ve steered clear of lace work myself and even though I really want to try it I’m worried I will have the same issue you’ve had – it will become too much of a chore :p you totally did the right thing and coming back to it later will feel so much better. Last year I started a ‘sky scarf’ but it became such an effort to work on everyday and I didn’t like my yarn combination at all, so I finally bit the bullet and stopped :) I felt such relief! jenny xx

    Like

    • H's Handcrafts says:

      I just love the way lace work looks but it does seem to require a lot of patience. Hopefully one day I will get to the point where I can enjoy it without it being a chore

      Like

Leave a Reply

