The Rise and Rise of Crochet

Whilst having a mess around on Google I came across a tool called Google Trends.

This allows you to look at the number of Google searches for particular keywords across the last 10 years.

Obviously I decided to search for crafty words and typed in “knitting” and “crochet”. There was the predictable yearly increase in searches over winter and a decrease in the summer for each term. However, what surprised me is the gradual change over time. 10 years ago “knitting” was more commonly searched for than “crochet” but now this seems to be reversed.

Google trends for knitting and crochet

Not only has the number of searches for “knitting” decreased gradually over time, but the searches for “crochet” have seen a sharp increase in the last 5 years.

I wanted to check this wasn’t just a weird artefact of this particular comparison. So, I also searched for “knitting needles” and “crochet hook”. This is assuming that if more people were becoming interested in crochet they would also be searching for supplies. The same trend rears its head again! Whilst knitting needles were much more popular than crochet hooks 10 years ago they are now on pretty much an even footing!

Google trends for knitting needles and crochet hook

Can anyone explain this sudden surge in the number of people googling crochet? Maybe soon everyone will be doing it!

H.

6 thoughts on “The Rise and Rise of Crochet

  1. Abigail says:

    Wow! I never would have known this!
    Before I knew that crocheting even existed, I knew that knitting was a thing. I didn’t know how to do it, but I knew what it was. I have no clue how crocheting just got real popular!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Allison says:

    I have always been a crocheter but I think in non crafter ideals, they don’t realize that their is a difference. I don’t know how many times while I have been crocheting that people have pointed and said “look she’s knitting”. I guess if you haven’t have the privilege to learn it’s all lumped together. And I think it helps that people are seeing neat patterns in crochet other than the “granny square” of the 70’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cynalune says:

    I was so sure crochet was starting to have a resurgence like the one knitting enjoyed ten years ago. Glad to see numbers agree with me. I think amigurumi are a good factor cause, and the fact that editors are slowly starting to publish books on techniques that are beyond basics and with stylish patterns too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

