A Serendipitous Cowl

A long time ago I bought some 4-ply yarn from Tiger, mostly because I liked the colours – a bright turquoise and a variegated yarn with blues, greens and yellows. I didn’t really have a clue what I was going to do with it and hadn’t ever used yarn of this weight before so was eager to give it ago.

A few weeks ago, once the clocks went back I really wanted to make some gloves so I found a pattern that would use my yarn but it didn’t really work out and I couldn’t quite get into it on my double pointed needles (I think me and DPN’s don’t really get along too well!)

So the yarn went back in the stash until a couple of weeks later when I started to think about what to make my mum for her birthday. There was the phone cosy but I wanted to make something a little bigger and more special.

I decided on a cowl but couldn’t really find a pattern I liked that could use my yarn so I just decided to start knitting!

I got about 5 rounds in of alternating the two yarns by row before I noticed a twist in my cast on edge…I really struggle with this in knitting in the round thing as I find it hard to see what’s going on until I’ve knit a few rounds

Cast on Silverdale Cowl

Anyway, I decided to carry on anyway – hoping it would make a cool twist kind of like a moebius strip.

Guess what? It did!

I am really pleased with how it turned out and my mum really liked it too. I didn’t get chance to get any pictures of it on her, so you are just stuck with me and a coat hanger instead!

That’s all of my secret WIPs for now so I can get back on with fun things for me! Although with Christmas just around the corner I’m sure there’ll be a few more soon!

H.

3 thoughts on “A Serendipitous Cowl

Leave a Reply

