Blocking

Whilst making the cowl I showed you earlier in the week my mums present I was having some issues with the edges rolling up and hoped a bit of blocking would fix it. Previously I have blocked things by wetting them and pinning them to a towel in the desired shape to be left to dry.

As this was a present and quite delicate with the 4-ply yarn I decided to look up how to get this thing blocked properly. I decided to invest in some blocking wires and pins.

I chose this set by lazadas at I found some good reviews online and they offered a mixture of two lengths of wire with different rigidity.

2015-11-19 21.01.02

For the cowl, I soaked it in warm water with a bit of conditioner for around 20 minutes and then rinsed and gently squeezed out the excess water. I then stuck it in a towel and pressed out even more of the water before threading the wires through the top and bottom row of stitches across half of the cowl.

I could then use the T-bar pins included in the set to pin the wire straight to a dry towel.

2015-11-19 20.55.48

After a couple of days I rewet the twisted part of the cowl and repositioned the wires so this bit was now flat and again, pinned it and left it for a couple of days.

Once this process was complete The cowl was much flatter and the ends didn’t roll up any more. Also, thanks to the wires I didn’t have lots of pointy bits to look like picot edging where my pins had been. Success!

I’m really glad I bought this kit as I think it made the blocking process easier and the result was better than I could achieve with pins alone.

How do you block your work? Is there a trick that I am missing?

H.

 

Leave a Reply

