Birthday Goodies

Not only was this weekend a long one with two bank holidays at either end it was also my birthday! This meant I didn’t have to feel quite so guilty about spending the whole time crafting!

The first three days of the four day weekend I was bundled up with a cold – the perfect excuse to not go anywhere and just lay around all day doing bits and pieces of knitting and crochet when I had the energy.

Luckily for me though, yesterday I felt much better which meant I was able to fully enjoy my birthday!

I got some lovely crafty gifts too which I wanted to share with you today.

Firstly this amazing book which I had asked for but wasn’t sure if my hinting had been noticed! After a quick flick through yesterday I can tell that it is one I will read from cover to cover a few times as well as dipping in and out of it as and when as a reference book. the writing style is amazing and I feel like the author is right there with me as I read it telling me little funny stories about knitting. So much better than I could have ever hoped for – and I cant wait to get stuck in!

2016-03-28 15.39.54

I also got myself a little present – a set of pompom makers. I really love a bobble hat but when it comes down to it making pompoms can be a bit of a chore and reminds me a little too much of summer play schemes! These things are amazing though I had a little try yesterday and was amazed with the speed at which I could whip up a pom pom and not just a little weedy one either! I should buy myself presents more often!

2016-03-28 15.39.44

We also went into town yesterday and as it was my birthday I couldn’t bypass tiger without buying just one ball of yarn. As I have been really good lately and not added any more to my stash I allowed myself the luxury but decided it could only be ONE ball. But which colour to choose? and then I saw this one and realised I didn’t have to choose just one colour when I could have them all in this one glorious ball!

2016-03-28 18.34.44

 

 

7 thoughts on “Birthday Goodies

    • Helen from H's Handcrafts says:

      This is the first time I think mine had been at easter! It’s great that it was so early.
      I’m hoping to get a good look at the book this week but it looks like it will be a great reference for getting a better fit and for adapting patterns :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

