#MMMay16 Week One Summary

me-made-may'16

Since the first of may I have been posting my daily outfit on Instagram in an attempt to give myself some accountability for my Me-Made-May pledge:

I, Helen of https://hshandcrafts.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavour to wear at least one me-made item each day for the duration of May 2016

Me Made May is the creation of ‘So Zo…’ . It is a brilliant endeavour to encourage people who sew/knit/crochet/refashion/upcycle garments for themselves to wear and love them more. If you want to find out more about it there is a great page and sign up sheet over on her blog.

Here is a summary of what I wore this week. I decided to go with flat lays rather than daily selfies as sometimes I just don’t want to bother with making myself look all that presentable!! Although keep an eye out on instagram for a composite of selfies for the week just to prove I did wear them all!

13098882_994248923945061_1565924791_nSo first up was an as yet unblogged boxy top, jeans and a cardi. I actually have quite a few unblogged makes stacking up to share with you and I promise to get round to it soon. In fact most of the posts are written I just need to get some good pictures.

 

 

 

13092229_1077545062282428_1649291481_nThe next day I wore my Chuck Jumper, jeans and a t-shirt. I am really glad I got to wear this as I guess it wont be cold enough for quite a while now and so it will get relegated to the back of the wardrobe for some time. I really love this jumper but it is just so warm!

 

 

 

13116805_507231869479721_759486866_n

The following day I brought out my Tulip Skirt. It has not been that long since I made this but I wear it a lot. It fits right in with a the rest of my wardrobe and can be worn with tights, boots and a jumper like I did on this day or with pumps and a blouse for a smarter look. It’s so versatile.

 

 

13150770_1803892729842583_767288657_n

By the 4th the temperatures were rising and I was so happy to bring out my first Megan Dress. I haven’t worn this for a long time as it really is a summer dress. This was the first dress I made and I still love wearing it today. I spent ages getting the fit right but there are still a few issues that I notice more now I am a bit more familiar with dressmaking.

 

 

13150932_1794835310751882_411674416_n13129110_1028471660572327_212599498_n

The next couple of days were still really hot. Its amazing to think that just a week ago we had snow! I pulled out my Waterfall skirt and paired it with a couple of t-shirts. Because of the fabric print it is really versatile in terms of what you can pair it with – there’s quite a few colours to choose from.

13150981_152350738501589_1395528499_n

Today I am catching the train up to York so it’s all about practicality. I am wearing my Tulip skirt again with a comfy t-shirt and my brand new sensible shoes!

 

 

 

 

Who would have thought I could go from my super cosy Chuck Jumper to my light and breezy Waterfall skirt in the space of a week?! That’s British weather for you though, it’s so fickle.

I am really enjoying MeMadeMay so far. It’s great to see what everyone else has been wearing and it’s really making me think about my handmade wardrobe. I have already started to notice a few gaps – so much so I made a new sweater this week to give me something to wear on days I need to be more casual. I often need to get hands on filling plant pots and moving bags of soil around for work so pretty skirts and dresses may not be the best for those days. Like I said before hopefully I will get some pictures soon and I will be able to share my new makes with you!

Until then…

Remember you can keep up with my daily outfits and watch out for those sneaky selfies coming later over on instagram!

4 thoughts on “#MMMay16 Week One Summary

  1. Vintage on Tap says:

    Love your different coordinates! And you’re on top of filling in those wardrobe gaps! The furthest I’ve gone is recognizing that I need to make more pants, but I haven’t lifted a finger for it yet. Hopefully by the end of the year (LOL) I’ll have that taken care of.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Helen from H's Handcrafts says:

      I think part of the problem is realising where the gaps are…I definitely need fore trousers. I really struggled today as I cant wear a skirt for the work I need to do and the one pair of trousers I made really dont fit!

      Like

Leave a Reply

