#MMMay16 Week Two Summary

me-made-may'16

Can you believe we’re nearly half-way through already?! Since the first of may I have been posting my daily outfit on Instagram in an attempt to give myself some accountability for my Me-Made-May pledge:

I, Helen of https://hshandcrafts.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavour to wear at least one me-made item each day for the duration of May 2016

I am really pleased that I have been able to keep up with this so far, There has been a couple of days where I have struggled due to the nature of the work I have had to do meaning some of my me-mades were unsuitable. Despite this being something I have been addressing lately with my sewing the amazingly hot weather scuppered my plans to wear my new sweater on days I needed to lug around big bags of soil and compost!

Here is a summary of what I wore this week. Again it’s flat lays rather than daily selfies but if you want a composite of my daily selfies there is one over on instagram just to prove I did wear them all!

13099121_1551422611820140_380464119_n

Last Sunday the weather was unbelievable for this time of year and so I was still making good use of my Waterfall skirt. This time with a black rtw blouse. I definitely think I need to make more of these Clemence skirts form Love at First Stitch. It is just so easy to wear!

 

 

 

13181467_177119856020544_1417938118_n

On Monday I attended a funeral (a very colourful one!) so I had to dress smartly. My new black midi (not yet blogged) was perfect given the weather and a bright blue rtw blouse. I also wore my shawl to keep my shoulders covered.

 

 

 

13102507_1756590641245323_1379335320_n

If there is one thing I am learning from Me-Made-May it is how much I love wearing my Tulip Skirt! I can’t get enough of it. I think it is a perfect casual skirt that can be dressed up if necessary and this tartan fabric is great too! Definitely can see me making more of these soon!

 

 

 

13113906_266034320410951_1292872683_n

By Wednesday I realised how  much my wardrobe relies on various shades of blue, grey and black. I decided it was time to mix things up a bit and throw on my Delphine skirt in this lovely deep red. This was the first skirt I made and is actually a bit big for me now but perhaps it is a sign I should start thinking about making some wardrobe staples in some brighter colours.

 

 

13150806_1759999467548005_255541927_nThursday was a tough one for me – I had a lot of messy work to do and was struggling to find something from my me-made wardrobe that was good for the task. In the end I put on some cotton rtw trousers and a t-shirt and reverted back to my trusty colour palette. Luckily my Miette cardigan was to had to top of the outfit with some me-made goodness.

 

 

13126635_271869906487863_1377534551_n

By Friday I was gettting quite excited about the new series of the great british sewing bee which starts on Monday next week so I had to wear something from the last book – fashion with fabric – and this gingham blouse was just the ticket!

 

 

 

13167220_245196072513055_1999088744_nToday the temperature has dropped right down again but I am clinging on to the hope of summer by wearing my Megan dress but layering it up with a long cardi and thick black tights!

 

 

 

 

I am really pleased by how much I am able to get out of my me-made wardrobe without feeling like I am wearing the same thing every day. In fact there are only 3 me-mades already in my wardrobe that I haven’t worn yet this month. Two of those are quite wintery, my tartan Megan and my Loulou dress, so unless it continues to get cooler we may not see them. The third is my Anenome skirt and this is the one that bothers me most. It is just so short I just don’t like to wear it. It is also a bit tight and so is not always that comfortable.

I also have a couple of new makes waiting in the wings…hopefully they will make an appearance soon. Watch this space!

Remember you can keep up with my daily outfits and watch out for those sneaky selfies coming later over on instagram!

Leave a Reply

