#MMMay16 is complete!

me-made-may'16

Me-Made-May has flown by and I’ve loved every minute of it: getting the most out of my me-made wardrobe, discovering where I am in need of new items to fill gaps and discovering everyone else’s brilliant makes all at the same time! Here’s a round up of my month and some of those long awaited selfies!

I am pleased to say I completed my pledge and wore something me-made every day! I am quite pleased with this and think I will continue to try and wear my handmade clothes more often as it has not been as challenging as I thought.

I, Helen of https://hshandcrafts.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavour to wear at least one me-made item each day for the duration of May 2016

2016-05-16 08.17.51I also managed to identify some areas where I needed more items and even made one thing to fit the bill! My oversized sweater was perfect to fill the days when I needed something comfy and easy to do a lot of manual work in! It even got worn 4 times over the course of the month!

2016-05-15 08.44.52It has been quite warm this May and so obviously that has swayed the kind of clothes I have worn but I have still managed to get three wears out of my Chuck jumper. I really love this jumper and can’t wait to knit more jumpers and cardigans…in fact, there are two on the way at the moment (oversized Vianne and OAL2016)

2016-05-17 08.10.23Speaking of cardigans, I have also worn Miette twice this May. I was unsure how much wear I would get from it seeing as it is not my usual style but turns out it is great for the warmer weather we have been having!

2016-05-26 08.26.19Moving on to tops, I wore a new (unblogged) freehand top I made once at the start of May but just don’t like the sleeves at all so think I will rip them out and try and do something else with them. I have, however, worn my gingham top twice. I really like the pop of red in the buttons – it makes an otherwise quite plain top really fun to wear!

2016-05-23 08.25.02I have also wore my new Susie blouse twice (Watch this space for more info on this one…I’m still awaiting a time when I can get some good photos!). I definitely need more tops in my wardrobe and I think this may become a pattern I use time and time again. It is a style I really like and I have lots of similar RTW tops so can see myself making more of these.

2016-05-14 10.01.402016-05-18 17.43.49As for dresses, my first chevron print Megan dress saw 3 outings whilst my tartan print  second  only saw 1. I don’t think this has anything to do with how much I like them (in fact I think I secretly like the tartan one more) but has a lot more to do with the weather. The chevron print dress just seems right for summer!

2016-05-20 08.33.56I also wore my Lou Lou dress twice this May. Whilst I was unsure of the style at first I think I just was a bit unsure how to wear it. I really love it layered up with a  cardigan for a relaxed smart-casual style.

2016-05-11 08.34.09Moving on to skirts my first ever skirt, Delphine, was worn twice and my newest (unblogged) black midi only got worn once each. Delphine is definitely more of a winter skirt made from a  heavy fabric it is best layered up with tights and boots. Conversely, the midi skirt is so light and floaty it is really only for super hot weather.

However, my other skirts were really the stars of the month!

2016-05-03 07.57.53My tulip skirt got worn a lot – it’s really versatile and I absolutely love the fabric. I will be making more of this pattern as it fits into my wardrobe so well.

2016-05-24 08.23.24Also, my waterfall skirt was worn 5 times(!) in May. It is great for warmer weather whilst still feeling like I don’t have my legs on show too much for work. I hope to make some more of these soon as they are such an easy make and a great way to show off beautiful fabric!.

 

Who else has been taking part in Me-Made-May? I hope you all enjoyed it as much as I did and completed your own personal challenges. I can’t wait for next year now. It will be the perfect opportunity to see how my handmade wardrobe has grown and adapted to over time. First thing though…the Outfit Along!

Remember you can keep up with my OAL2016 progress on my Ravelry project page or head over to the forum for lots of fun and interesting discussion!

2 thoughts on “#MMMay16 is complete!

  1. Hannah Smith says:

    I had a great time too and it’s definitely helped me focus on the things that I need to make over the next few months. Onto the OAL, last year was so much fun, I’ve been looking forward to it for months!

    Like

Leave a Reply

