Me-Made-May 2016

me-made-may'16

I, Helen of https://hshandcrafts.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavour to wear at least one me-made item each day for the duration of May 2016

Me Made May is the creation of ‘So Zo…’ . It is a brilliant endeavour to encourage people who sew/knit/crochet/refashion/upcycle garments for themselves to wear and love them more. If you want to find out more about it there is a great page and sign up sheet over on her blog.

Each year I see May come and go and admire everyone who makes their own clothes posting about their personal goals to get more out of their handmade wardrobe. It’s really insprirational – so this year I am pledging to take part myself. I have not taken part before as I felt I did not have enough handmade things to present any kind of challenge. I might simply have pledged to wear something once a week but it really didnt seem all that different to what I was doing anyway.

Now that my handmade wardrobe has grown a little I think it will be the perfect challenge to try and wear at least one item a day. I don’t yet have anything like a full wardrobe of handmade things so I am hoping that this challenge will get me to think a bit more creatively about outfit options that include my makes and allow me to see their versatility and usability.

As per the instructions I am not going to start panic sewing to bulk up my me-made wardrobe. This is supposed to be about wearing and loving the clothes you already have. However,  I do currently have a long list of sewing plans so this might just be the motivation I need to get on with some of them!

I will hopefully be keeping a daily log of the me-made items I am wearing each day of May over on Instagram so if you want to follow me and my challenge that’s where to do it. There may be irregular updates on here but I don’t want to fill up this blog with daily outfit photos.

5 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2016

  1. Pingback: Oversized sweater – Hs Handcrafts

  2. Pingback: Me-Made-May 2017 – Hs Handcrafts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.