Making Mr Dinosaur

Meet Mr. Dinosaur

I’m always being so serious. Mostly at work, but also with my crafting. Pretty much everything I make has to have a purpose or add to my wardrobe or be the perfect gift. I cant remeber the last time I made something just because. Well, until now!

Meet Mr. Dinosaur

I was browsing through simply sewing magazine because I have already received issue three and other than my embroideryΒ I have not yet managed to make anything from any of the issues. I saw this pattern for making a toy dinosaur from felt and thought I would give it ago. I didnt have any felt in but something jumped into my mind. I had a couple of jumpers that had gone all out of shape that I never wear any more and they were the perfect colours for a really fun dinosaur! So I thought I would go for it!

Making Mr Dinosaur

The magazine came with patterns for both a large and small dinosaur. I opted for the small one and got cutting. As this was a “just-for-fun” project I didnt even bother tracing the pattern. Throwing caution to the wind I just drew the approximate shape onto the jumper using chalk and went for it. This was a huge step out of my comfort zone which involves meticulous tracing, lining up of fabric pieces, pinning and cutting cardfully with a rotary cutter. But it worked (and I’ll share a little secret with you it was kind of fun!)

Anyway, I havent really sewn much with knits before so I didnt really know how to properly set up my machine but I just went for it. at first the fabric was getting a bit chewed up but I adjusted the tension and then there didnt seem to be much problem. It was just a simple case of sewing the spots on and then sewing the 2 main body pieces together with the spikes inbetween.

He’s a bit scruffy round the edges, especially his feet but I think he turned out quite well for a quick project just for fun! and he can now stand guard over my sewing machine when I leave it out on the dining table when I’m not supposed too!

Mr. Dinosaur on guard at my sewing machine

Mr. Dinosaur on guard at my sewing machine

H.

7 thoughts on “Meet Mr. Dinosaur

  1. Katy

    Aww haha so cute. And I agree with the upcycling idea – fantastic. You don’t always need an excuse to make something, and it doesn’t always have to be perfect. Sometimes you just need to whip something fun like this up to itch that spot :)

    Like

    Reply
    1. H's Handcrafts Post author

      He would make a great toy! If you dont have the pattern you could probably make it up quite easily just cut out the basic shape, stitch it together leaving a small hole and then turn the right way and finish off!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Pinterest Roundup: June 2015 | Hs Handcrafts

  3. Pingback: And the winner is… | Hs Handcrafts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.