shawl knitting WIP detail

Oyster Shawl

I did it! I finished knitting my shawl!

oyster shawl full.jpg

It took a while and there were a few stops and starts along the way but I had completed my shawl in time for Christmas!

When I first began this shawl it was in an attempt to improve my lace skills. I had started to knit a lacy cowl but was really struggling so decided to try this shawl as the first section is just a solid knit with an occasional eyehole – the perfect opportunity to practice.

shawl knitting WIP detail

Then, once that section is complete the hard core lacework begins! At first I just took it steady but gradually I could gain pace as I learnt the repeats and began to feel more comfortable with the stitches.

2015-08-06 17.24.49 edit

I had hoped to finish this shawl over the summer to wear at a friends wedding but when that didnt happen it had to get put to one side as I had some gifts to make. However, just before Christmas I found myself with a bit of time so decided to give it one final push and I’m really glad I did!

wrapped shawl.jpg

The final blocking stage was so important I almost couldn’t believe it. Once finished the lace section was a little disappointing as it was quite bunched together but after a little blocking all was fixed and now I love it!

lace.jpg

shawl

scarf shawl

The Details:

Pattern: Oyster Shawl by Ambah O’Brien

Yarn: Soft and cuddly by the WI for Hobbycraft in cream and Soft and Silky by the WI for Hobbycraft in slate

I still can’t really believe that I made it! I love the fact it can look really smart as a shawl for special occasions or I can wear it casually as a scarf. This means I will certainly get the most out of it!

H.

6 thoughts on “Oyster Shawl

Leave a Reply

